Hong Kong Sprint News

Fourteen sprinters have been confirmed in the final field for the 2016 Hong Kong Sprint (1200m) at Sha Tin Racecourse; highlighted by the inclusion of some of the world’s best short course race horses. 2015 champion Peniaphobia has returned to racing in competitive form this time and has been confirmed…

Hong Kong Sprint

The Hong Kong Sprint is a Group 1 race that takes place at Sha Tin Racecourse on the second Sunday of December each year. Run over a distance of 1,200 metres under weight for age conditions, the Hong Kong Sprint is worth a total of HK$15,000,000, or approximately A$2.27 million, in prize money. It is the final leg of the Global Sprint Challenge, which consists of nine top sprints from around the world.

The 2014 Hong Kong Sprint will take place on Sunday December 14, 2014.Hong Kong Sprint

Special Offer:
Get up to $500 in Bonus Bet* from Ladbrokes

The race is run on Sha Tin’s turf surface and is open to horses aged three-years-old and upwards. Run under weight-for-age conditions, the Hong Kong Sprint field is limited to a total of 14 runners. The Hong Kong Sprint shares its program with the Group 1 Hong Kong Vase, Group 1 Hong Kong Mile and Group 1 Hong Kong Cup, making it the biggest single-day sporting event in the country.

The first Hong Kong Sprint was run in 1999, when it was won by Fairy King Prawn. It was originally run over a distance of 1,000 metres and was the richest five furlong race in the world. However, the Hong Kong Sprint was altered to 1,200 metres from 2006.

Notable winners if the Hong Kong Sprint include Falvelon (2000, 2001), Silent Witness (2003, 2004) , Sacred Kingdom (2007, 2009) and JJ The Jet Plane (2010).

The Hong Kong Sprint provides punters with the ideal opportunity to bet on international racing. With a number of Australian gallopers often headed for the race, punters have the ability to show some true patriotism by wagering on their local sprinters in the Hong Kong Sprint.